top of page

The art of being cool

So, a coworker was walking down the hallway during passing time when he overheard a couple of middle school boys. [Picture slightly awkward and maybe a little smelly.]

Boy 1: "The first thing you need to know about middle school is that you have to look cool."

Boy 2: (Looks around with a worried look on his face.)

Boy 1: "And the second thing is that you have to act cool."

Boy 2: (Nods in agreement.)

I am not sure that I have this story entirely accurate since I heard it secondhand, but the gist of it is true. And while cute and funny, it also makes me think.

In order to fit in, I need to both look cool and act cool. How does that apply to my new position?

Here's the deal. I am not cool, and I certainly don't look it, but I am definitely interested in being the person that others go to for help. It's like the uncoordinated kid at recess who always gets picked last.

I am screaming, "Pick me! I want to be cool!"

Whether it be demonstrating an instructional strategy, assisting with standard alignment, integrating technology,

co-planning units, analyzing data, co-teaching, etc., etc., I want to be cool enough to partner with fellow teachers.

There are a million ideas floating through my head just waiting to be utilized. Pick me!


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page