top of page

Thumbing through thank yous

As I frantically searched for my dog's vaccination records this morning, I came across a small pile of my 9-year-old's handwritten birthday thank you notes. They were never sent.

Here comes the sigh. *sigh* While he verbalized his thank you at the time of receiving his gifts, it is still not the same as receiving a handwritten note of thanks. I feel a great amount of disappointment for not having sent them in a timely manner.

Added to the disappointment is the fact that it was not an overly easy task getting a very active 9-year-old to sit down and write the thank yous. It was almost more work for me than for him!

My point is that he is thankful for the birthday presents, and he is thankful for the people who celebrated his birthday. I know he is; he's that type of kid.

This little morning episode naturally forces me to consider the things that I am thankful for.

I am thankful for a career in education where I can utilize my knowledge and my talents to make a positive impact on students and co-workers.

I am thankful for my teacher peers who support my lifelong learning, encourage me to achieve goals, and provide a shoulder to lean on when support is needed.

And yes, I am so very thankful for my family. Even when the puppy poops on the family room floor, the 6-year-old floods the toilet, and the 4-year-old hoards gum in her room, I am thankful for this crazy little family.

Finally, yet most importantly, I am thankful for my faith that is the foundation for all of these.

P.S. I am hoping to get the thank you notes sent with our Christmas card.

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page